
REVISED LEGAL NOTICE 
STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

MEDICAID NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT 

 
TAKE NOTICE that, the Department of Human Services, Division of Medical 

Assistance and Health Services, intends to submit a State Plan Amendment to the 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to change the nursing facility rates in 
order to implement budget provisions of the New Jersey Fiscal Year 2024 Appropriations 
Act.  This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of federal law and regulations, 
specifically 42 U.S.C. §1396a (a)(13) and 42 CFR §447.205. 

 
Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New Jersey 

Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to any 
required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General 

Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) Class 
I (private), Class II (county), and Class III (special care) nursing facilities being paid on a 
fee-for-service basis shall be reimbursed at a per diem rate no less than the rate received 
on June 30, 2023 minus the first provider tax add-on and any performance add-on 

amounts, subject to the condition that Class III (special care) facilities shall be reimbursed 
the greater of this rate or $450 per diem and that Class III (special care) nursing facilities 
licensed pursuant to a Certificate of Need to operate a traumatic brain injury unit as of 
July 1, 2023 shall be reimbursed the greater of this rate or $740.01 per diem; 

 
 (2) nursing facilities that are being paid by a Managed Care Organization (MCO) 

for custodial care through a provider contract that includes a negotiated rate shall receive 
that negotiated rate;  

 
(3) any Class I and Class III nursing facility that is being paid by an MCO for 

custodial care through a provider contract but has not yet negotiated a rate shall receive 
the equivalent fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rate as it received on June 30, 

2023 minus the first provider tax add-on and any performance add-on amounts, and any 
Class II nursing facility that is being paid by an MCO for custodial care through a provider 
contract but has not yet negotiated a rate shall receive the equivalent fee-for-service per 
diem reimbursement rate as it received on June 30, 2023 minus any performance add-

on amounts, had it been a Class I nursing facility;  
 
(4) monies designated pursuant to subsection c. of section 6 of P.L.2003, c.105 

(C.26:2H-97) for distribution to nursing facilities, less the portion of those funds to be paid 

as pass-through payments in accordance with paragraph (1) of subsection d. of section 
6 of P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97) and less the actual amounts expended during fiscal 
year 2022 on performance add-ons and expenditures to establish a minimum per diem of 
$188.35, shall be combined with amounts hereinabove appropriated for the General 

Medical Services program classification for the purpose of calculating NJ FamilyCare 
reimbursements for nursing facilities;  
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(5) for the purposes of this paragraph, a nursing facility’s per diem reimbursement 
rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the nursing facility is eligible for reimbursement, 
the difference between the full calculated provider tax add-on and the quality-of-care 

portion of the provider tax add-on, which difference shall be payable as an allowable cost 
pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97); (6) the add-ons 
used for fiscal year 2023 shall be applied from July 1, 2023, through September 30, 2023 
and the first add-on as calculated in section 4 above shall be applied to both MCO and 

fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rates effective October 1, 2023; (7) each Class I, 
Class II, and Class III nursing facility that has, no later than the deadline established by 
the Commissioner of Human Services, submitted to the Department of Human Services 
(DHS) the DHS Fiscal Year 2024 CoreQ Long-Stay Survey Sample Size Calculation Grid 

with affirmative answers, as defined by the Department, to validated Hospital Utilization 
Tracking system use, CoreQ vendor intent, and completion of the CoreQ Long-Stay 
Survey sample size calculation and, if eligible for CoreQ, no later than the deadline 
established by the Commissioner of Human Services, submitted demographics to the 

CoreQ vendor to initiate the CoreQ survey process, and, during calendar year 2022, has 
not been included on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Special 
Focus Facility Lists A, B, E or F, ranked as a one-star facility by the CMS Five-Star Quality 
Rating System, or cited by the Department of Health for two or more Level G or higher 

licensing violations (a) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 for each of the 
following CMS nursing home long stay quality measures where the nursing facility has 
not failed to report data for any of the reporting periods Q3 2021, Q4 2021, Q1 2022 and 
Q2 2022, and the simple average of the quarters, as calculated by the Department with 

available data, is at or below the lower of the New Jersey or national average, as 
calculated by CMS, for the percentage of long stay residents who are: physically 
restrained, receiving antipsychotic medication, experiencing one or more falls with major 
injury, and high risk residents with a pressure ulcer, (b) shall receive a performance add-

on of $1.80 for the following CMS nursing home long stay quality measures where the 
nursing facility has not failed to report data for any of the reporting periods Q2 2021, Q3 
2021, Q4 2021 and Q1 2022, and the simple average of the quarters, as calculated by 
the Department with available data, is at or below the lower of the New Jersey or national 

average, as calculated by CMS, for the number of hospitalizations per 1,000 long-stay 
resident days, (c) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 if the percentage of long-
stay residents who are assessed and/or given, appropriately, the influenza vaccination is 
at or above the higher of the New Jersey or national average for the CMS reporting 

influenza season ending Q2 2022, and (d) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 if 
the nursing facility has been deemed eligible to participate in the CoreQ survey process 
as determined by the Department and received a composite score of 75 percent or 
greater, as calculated by the DHS vendor, on the CoreQ Resident and Family Experience 

Survey for the fiscal year 2024 survey period; and (8) each nursing facility shall receive a 
per diem adjustment that shall be calculated based upon an additional $60,000,000 in 
State and $60,000,000 in federal appropriations. 
 

Additionally, notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New 
Jersey Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to 
any required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General 



Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) LTC-
Behavioral Health nursing facilities approved pursuant to the Department of Health’s 
expedited certificate of need being paid on a fee-for-service basis for custodial care shall 

be reimbursed at a per diem rate equal to eighty-five percent of the simple average of all 
Class III (special care) LTC-Specialized Behavior Modification nursing facility rates minus 
any performance add-on amounts; (2) for the purposes of this paragraph, a nursing 
facility’s per diem reimbursement rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the nursing 

facility is eligible for reimbursement, the difference between the full calculated provider 
tax add-on and the quality-of-care portion of the provider tax add-on, which difference 
shall be payable as an allowable cost pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003, 
c.105 (C.26:2H-97); and (3) the add-ons used for fiscal year 2023 shall be applied from 

July 1, 2023, through September 30, 2023 and the first add--on as calculated [in] herein 
shall be applied to both MCO and fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rates effective 
October 1, 2023. 

The estimated fiscal impact associated with this State Plan Amendment is 

$4.432m total ($2.216m state share) in SFY24 and $4.439m total ($2.220m state share) 
in SFY25. 

 
A copy of this Notice is available for public review at all Offices of the Area 

Agencies on Aging that are situated in all twenty-one counties, as well as at the local 
Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and the DHS website 
at http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html. Comments 
or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to: 

 
 Assistant Commissioner 
Division of Aging Services 

PO Box 807 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0807 

 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html

